The weight has been lifted

Boy oh boy.  I’m just going to blame it on that business trip to Vegas.  I found myself in one heck of a funk for more than a week.  Probably closer to two.   But I seem to be back on track again.

I took a mental health day on February 1st – I was suffering from terrible headaches (most likely from stress), and my LLM was in town and decided to go see a back doctor.  So I took the day off, called in sick, and we slept late, went to his doctor, went and helped his Dad, then (the most important part) – bought me a brand spanking new mattress.  I haven’t slept on a real mattress in over 20 years.  Seriously.  I went from a waterbed in my teens, to sleeping on various futons for the past 15 years.

I swear to the gods, I honestly believe the new mattress helped get me out of my funk.  I wasn’t sleeping well at all – waking up in the middle of the night for hours on end.  My neck was always out of alignment.  So I decided it was time to be a grown up and buy myself a new mattress.  It’s LUXURIOUS!  It’s a lovely, thick, pillow top mattress that feels like you’re sleeping on the clouds of heaven.  I’m in love.  🙂

I also finally got to go skiing this past weekend.  It was a neat day.  The fog was so thick, but perfectly blue skies above it.  So I was skiing in and out between thick fog and blinding sunshine.  The snow was terrific too.

So I feel like I’ve come full circle out of my funk, and I’m so utterly happy about that.  I’m not someone who normally suffers from depression.  Oh sure, I get frustrated with humanity (sometimes more frequently than I’d like to admit), but depression doesn’t grip me too often.

On the 2nd of February (Groundhog Day!), I celebrated (loosely) my one-year blogiversary.  My creativity blog is much more active than this one, and it’s the reason I began blogging.  To hold myself accountable to being creative, as a challenge, for one year straight.  I learned a lot about myself, creatively, in that year.  The most important thing was that I clearly create in spurts.  Now, after going crafting ~*~cRaZy~*~ for the holidays, I find myself taking a mid-winter break.  I’m reading, listening to pod casts, lounging in baths and being totally lazy.  And I’m okay with that.  It’s what winter is for, right?  But I do have a long list of projects I want to work on… so I think my lazy break will have to be short lived.

Anyway – here’s to the bright future of 2010.

Here’s to lifting the fog of winter drear-dom.

Here’s to reading, lounging and enjoying your own company.

Leave a Reply

